IPL Team- Delhi Daredevils

Team: Delhi DaredevilsDelhi Daredevils
Captain: Virender Sehwag
Coach: Greg Shipperd
Franchisee: GMR Holdings
Franchise cost: $84 Million

Virender Sehwag (Captain)
Rajat Bhatia
AB de Villiers
Shikhar Dhawan
Tillakaratne DilshanDelhi Daredevils
Gautam Gambhir
Brett Geeves
Dinesh Karthik (wk)
Glenn McGrath
Farveez Maharoof
Yo Mahesh
Mithun Manhas
Amit Mishra
Mohammad Asif
Yogesh Nagar
Pradeep Sangwan
Shoaib Malik
Mayank Tehlan
Manoj Tiwary
Daniel Vettori
Tejashwi Yadav
Greg Shipperd (Coach)

Home Ground: Feroz Shah KotlaFeroz Shah Kotla

Established in 1883, the Feroz Shah Kotla – run by the politicised Delhi District Cricket Association (DDCA) – is undergoing its latest facelift – one that began over two years ago. Work has progressed so slowly that the last one-dayer of the 2004-05 India-Pakistan series was nearly played at another venue. Only a last-gasp push to complete the construction – as well as political presure – resulted in a game here, amid unfinished pillars shooting into the sky and stands where construction work was concealed under tarpaulin. But the smallish ground has witnessed a number of feats, most notably Anil Kumble’s 10 in an innings against Pakistan.

The Kotla staged its first Test in the 1948-49 season when the mighty West Indies under John Goddard took on India for a five Test series and the ground has produced some really good performances. In the 1952 Test against Pakistan, Hemu Adhikari and Ghulam Ahmed were involved in a record tenth wicket stand of 109 runs – a record that still stands. In 1965, S Venkataraghavan, in his debut series, demolished the New Zealand line up with figures of 8 for 72 and 4 for 80. In 1969-70, Bedi and Prasanna combined to spin India to a famous seven wicket win over Australia, the duo picking 18 wickets between themselves. England’s John Lever had a memorable debut at the Kotla in 1976, when he notched up a half-century and had match figures of 10 for 70. Five years later, Geoff Boycott surpassed Gary Sobers’ world record Test aggregate. In 1983-84, Sunil Gavaskar scored his 29th century to equal Don Bradman’s long standing record for the highest number of hundreds in Test cricket.

2 thoughts on “IPL Team- Delhi Daredevils”

Leave a Reply