Massa wins Belgian GP after Hamilton Penalised

Felippe Massa has been decalared as the winner of the Belgian Grand Prix after Hamilton was awarded 25 second penalty for his involvment in the incident with Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen which saw the latter crashing out of the race, after he was leading right up front. This has pushed BMW Sauber’s Heidfeld to 2nd place and Hamilton drops to 3rd position. Great day fro STR-Ferrari as both their drivers finished in top 10 with Sebastian Vettel finishing 5th and Sebastien Bourdais finishing 6th. Had Hamilton not been penalised, he would have been leading the drivers standings with 80 points followed by Massa with 70 points. After being penalised and loosing crucial 2 podium places, Hamilton still leads the drivers standings with 76 points followed by Massa with 74 points. Robert Kubica is at 3rd position with 58 points, 1 point more than Raikkonen who is in 4th place. With 5 more races to go, the battle for the drivers championship is getting intense with Massa and Hamilton locking horns against each other. 

Alonso had a pretty good race finished 4th for Renault but their other driver Nelson could not score any points as he was involved in an accident. Ferrari is leading the Constructors with 131 points followed by McLaren Mercedes with 119 points and BMW Sauber with 107 points respectively. Ferrari sitting pretty at the top 🙂

Force India’s Adrian Sutil finished 13th, something better then their usual performances. BMW Sauber’s Robert Kubica was not that impressive and he finished 6th to garner 3 crucial points for his team. 

Race Results (Points Finishers):
1. Felippe Massa (Ferrari)
2. Nick Heidfeld (BMW Sauber)
3. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
4. Fernando Alonso (Renault)
5. Sebastian Vettel (STR-Ferrari)
6. Robert Kubica (BMW Sauber)
7. Sebastien Bourdais (STR-Ferrari)
8. Mark Webber (Red Bull-Renault)

Constructor’s Standing (Top 5):
1. Ferrari– 131 Points
2. McLaren-Mercedes– 119 Points
3. BMW Sauber– 107 Points
4. Toyota- 41 Points
5. Renault– 36 Points

Driver’s Standings (Top 6):
1. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)- 76 Points
2. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)- 74 Points
3. Robert Kubics (BMW Sauber)- 58 Points 
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)- 57 Points
5. Nick Heidfeld (BMW Sauber)- 49 Points
6. Heikki Kovalainen (McLaren-Mercedes)- 43 Points

For Complete Race Results visit here.
For Constructor’s Standings visit here.
For Driver’s Standings visit here.

Leave a Reply